Golden Boy Award

2016 Golden Boy Award | Renato Sanches Defeats Rashford, Coman


19 year old Renato Sanches wins the 2016 Golden Boy Award. The award is run and organised by Tuttosport, an Italian Newspaper for Under 21 footballers. Sanches has enjoyed a splendidly remarkable year which culminated in him winning the Golden Boy award.

The Portugal international 19yr old prodigy, not only won the 2016 European Championship, he was a very important member of the team. He won the Young Player of the Tournament. He was also signed by Bayern Munich in the summer transfer window. Not wrong for a 19year old football sensation.

To win the award, Sanches contested with and defeated England and Manchester United’s Marcus Rashford and France and Bayern Munich’s Kingsley Coman, incidentally, Sanches’ club team mate. In winning the Golden Boy Award, Sanches follows the footsteps of Aguero, Sterling, Ballotelli, Pogba, Lionel Messi, Anthony Martial etc who have all won the award.

Also Read: 30-Man Ballon d’or List


Other Nominees for the 2016 Golden Boy Award are listed below:

The names of the nominees for this award whom Renato Sanches Defeated to become the winner, includes

  • Dele Alli (Tottenham)
  • Marco Asensio (Real Madrid)
  • Leon Bailey (Genk)
  • Riechedly Bazoer (Ajax)
  • Gabriel Boschilia (Monaco)
  • Julian Brandt (Bayer Leverkusen)
  • Carlos Fernandez (Sevilla)
  • Andreas Christensen (Borussia Mönchengladbach)
  • Kingsley Coman (Bayern Munich)
  • Ante Coric (Dinamo Zagreb)
  • Amadou Diawara (Napoli)
  • Mahmoud Dahoud (Borussia Mönchengladbach)
  • Danilo Barbosa (Benfica)
  • Moussa Dembélé (Celtic)
  • Ousmane Dembélé (Dortmund)
  • Gianluigi Donnarumma (Milan)
  • Breel Embolo (Schalke)
  • Gabriel Barbosa (Internazionale)
  • Aleksandr Golovin (CSKA Moscow)
  • Goncalo Guedes (Benfica)
  • Demarai Gray (Leicester)
  • Marko Grujic (Liverpool)
  • Alen Halilovic (Hamburg)
  • Kelechi Iheanacho (Manchester City)
  • Alex Iwobi (Arsenal)
  • Viktor Kovalenko (Shakhtar Donetsk)
  • Ruben Loftus-Cheek (Chelsea)
  • Lucas Hernández (Atlético Madrid)
  • Emanuel Mammana (Lyon)
  • Nathan (Vitesse)
  • Olivier Ntcham (Genoa)
  • Marcus Rashford (Manchester United)
  • Renato Sanches (Bayern Munich)
  • Jairo Riedewald (Ajax)
  • Rúben Neves (Porto)
  • Tonny Sanabria (Real Betis)
  • Leroy Sané (Manchester City)
  • Jonathan Tah (Bayer Leverkusen)
  • Youri Tielemans (Anderlecht)
  • Almamy Touré (Monaco)

The award will be presented to him in Monte Carlo on Monday Night.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This