2019 PFA Player of the Year Nominees – Hazard, Sterling & Van Dijk Leads

Finally, the long awaited 2019 PFA Player of the year nominees have been released. It is a list that has more of attackers (5, to one defender, Virgil Van Dijk). The 6-man list was drawn from just 3 clubs: Liverpool, Chelsea and Man City. The winner of the award will be announced on April 28th, 2019.

Also, the PFA Players Young player of the year nominees has been released as well. We will be showing you those who made this list and as well as the talking points and the favorites for the awards. Read on!

2019 PFA Player of the Year Nominees

Below are the full names of the players nominated for this huge annual award.

  1. Eden Hazard (Chelsea)
  2. Sergio Aguero (Manchester City)
  3. Sadio Mane (Liverpool)
  4. Raheem Sterling (Manchester City)
  5. Bernardo Silva (Manchester City)
  6. Virgil Van Dijk (Liverpool)

Also See: Mohamed Salah – PFA Player Of The Year Award Winner 2017/2018

PFA Young Player of the Year Nominees

Below are the nominees and their clubs. Bernardo Silva and Raheem Sterling were also listed among the Young Players award.

  1.  Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool)
  2. Marcus Rashford (Manchester United),
  3. Declan Rice (West Ham)
  4. David Brooks (Bournemouth)
  5. Raheem Sterling (Manchester City)
  6. Bernardo Silva (Manchester City)

Also See: PFA Premier League Team of The Year 2017/2018 – Salah And De Bruyne Leads

PFA Award Talking Points

Dutch central defender Van Dijk is odds-on favourite with the bookies to succeed team-mate Mohamed Salah as Players’ Player of the Year. The Liverpool man would be the first defender to win the award since John Terry in 2005.  Also, Liverpool could be the first team to return back-to-back winners of English football’s most prestigious individual title since Manchester United had four in a row between 2007 and 2010.

Despite having consistently been one of the best players of the year, Sergio Aguero is yet to win this award. That is not likely to change as Van Dijk, Sterling and Hazard are all ahead of him as the favorites.

On his own, Hazard in the only player on either list with a chance to win for a second time – he previously triumphed in 2015. The last Chelsea won the EPL, he battled for the gong with Ngolo Kante who won the award 2 seasons ago.

Also See: PFA Players’ Player Of The Year Award – Kante Wins Award, Alli Wins Young Player Of The Year


According to the bookmakers, Virgil Van Dijk is the leading favorite to win this award. Sterling is the favorite for the Young player of the year award.

Over to you? Who do you think should win this award? Share your thoughts below.


Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Top News Today:

Travel & Tourism Tips:

Most Read Tech Reviews:

Download Microsoft Teams App for Computer, iOS, Android to Start or Join Meeting

You can start or join meetings from any device. Microsoft Teams application provides a mobile app, desktop app, and the Microsoft Teams web to join or create your own meeting, with a capacity of over 10,000 members to join for free.

You can share screens, make video conferencing, share files and videos, etc.

Click here now to download Microsoft Teams app for free.

Most Trending Opportunities To Explore:

Fashion & Lifestyles:

Entertainment Zone:

Laycon Wins the Big Brother Naija Season 5 lock-down 2020 Show

The game has finally come to an end and Laycon emerges the winner of the 2020 Big Brother Naija Season 5 lock-down show. This means that Laycon goes home tonight with a ground total cash worth of N85,000,000. It wasn't an easy journey - among the 20 housemates of 2020...

Trending How-To’s Articles:

Business Zone: