Ballon D’or 2016 | List of 30-Man Shortlisted for 2016 Ballon D’or Award Title

The FIFA Ballon d’or is an award given to the best footballer of the football year. It is a merger of the France Football’s Ballon d’or and the FIFA World Player of the Year award. The FIFA Ballon d’or is awarded based on votes from international journalists and national team coaches and captains, who selected the players they deemed to have performed the best in the previous calendar year.


The 2016 Ballon D’or contestants have been released by France Football. The first list contains 30 names of footballers who made their mark through the football year.The award since inception has been shared by both Lionel Messi (2010, 2011, 2012 and 2015), and Cristiano Ronaldo (2013 and 2014). It remains to be seen whether any of them would win the trophy or a new face breaking the monopoly.messiron

Cristiano Ronaldo is the clear favorites to win the Ballon d’or 2016  having won the Champions League and the European Championship this year. He would however be challenged by Gareth Bale, his Real Madrid teammate who lead Wales to a historic Quarter Final place in the European Championship. Let’s consider who are who were nominated.

Also Read: Talking Points Chelsea vs Manchester United

Ballon D’or 2016 | 30-Man Shortlist

The shortlisted candidates to battle the current holder Lionel Messi are:


  1. Sergio Aguero (Manchester City),
  2. Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Borussia Dortmund),
  3. Gareth Bale (Real Madrid),
  4. Gianluigi Buffon (Juventus),
  5. Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid),
  6. Kevin de Bruyne (Manchester City),
  7. Paulo Dybala (Juventus),
  8. Diego Godin (Atletico Madrid),
  9. Antoine Griezmann (Atletico Madrid),
  10. Higuain (Juventus),
  11. Zlatan Ibrahimovic (Manchester United),
  12. Andres Iniesta (Barcelona),
  13. Koke (Atletico Madrid),
  14. Toni Kroos (Real Madrid),
  15. Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich),
  16. Hugo Lloris (Tottenham Hotspur),
  17. Riyad Mahrez (Leicester City),
  18. Lionel Messi (Barcelona),
  19. Luka Modric (Real Madrid),
  20. Thomas Muller (Bayern Munich),
  21. Manuel Neuer (Bayern Munich),
  22. Neymar (Barcelona),
  23. Dimitri Payet (West Ham),
  24. Pepe (Real Madrid),
  25. Paul Pogba (Manchester United),
  26. Rui Patricio (Sporting Lisbon),
  27. Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid),
  28. Luis Suarez (Barcelona),
  29. Jamie Vardy (Leicester City),
  30. Arturo Vidal (Bayern Munich).

From the above, the EPL has 8 representatives, La Liga has 13, Italian League 3, German Bundesliga 5 while the Portuguese league has a sole representaive in Rui Patricio (Sporting Lisbon) who won the European Championship with Portugal.


Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Top News Today:

How to Check Mock Jamb Result 2022

This article is for you If you're among the candidates who have participated (sat) in the Mock Jamb Result for the 2022 session. Joint Admissions and Matriculation Board (JAMB) has officially released the results of the Unified Tertiary Matriculation Examination...

Travel & Tourism Tips:

Live and Work in Canada | Apply for Canadian jobs abroad

It isn't new to know that Canada is a land of opportunity, that's the reason individuals and families are migrating. It is weird to even think of finding and applying for a job in Canada from abroad, right? But it's possible. Ever since the pandemic, Canada’s labor...

Most Read Tech Reviews:

Most Trending Opportunities To Explore:

Caregiver Jobs Description, Application Review & Requirements

Everyone needs love and to be cared for; a friend, family member, community member or even a lovable animal friend, but there are those who immediately need it the most. Do you know that older persons who experience loneliness may experience significant health...

Fashion & Lifestyles:

Entertainment Zone:

How to Vote Big Brother Titans – Vote your Favourite Housemate

The Big Brother Titans reality TV show kicked off on January 15th, 2023, with a total of 24 Nigerians and South Africans being present in Big Brother’s house. The show is packaged with lots of exciting activities - captivating the interest of viewers. To some fans, it...

Trending How-To’s Articles:

How To Verify Google AdSense WITHOUT A PIN

– Is your Google AdSense Payment on hold because you haven’t verified your address with Google PIN?
– Have you applied for the PIN 4 times and still haven’t gotten any?
– Is your YouTube or Blog not displaying ads because you haven’t verified your Google Account?
If any of this concerns you, then you are on the right page to restore your Google AdSense + Blog +YouTube Earnings again.

Business Zone:

Leading 11 Fintech Companies in Nigeria (Mobile Money Apps)

Leading 11 Fintech Companies in Nigeria (Mobile Money Apps)

Arguably to say that the Fintech companies in Nigeria are indeed revolutionising access to finance and banking services, with the consistent strategy of delivering outstanding features (products and services) to individuals and businesses in the country. It almost...

Understanding Student Loan Forgiveness Program

Understanding Student Loan Forgiveness Program

Student loans have been of great opportunities to many and yet a disturbing thing to some as well. Understanding every principle behind the student loans, application processes, and the escape roots (also known as Student Loan Forgiveness Programs) would be a...

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This