The 5 Love Languages: The Secret To Love That Lasts By Dr. Gary Chapman

Book Review | The 5 Love Languages: The Secret To Love That Lasts By Dr. Gary Chapman

Have you ever read a book that you know, without doubt, changed your life? Personally, I have never read a book with so profound impact on me as that written by Dr. Gary Chapman: The 5 Love Languages. Dr. Gary Chapman in this book, broke down the secrets of building lovely relationships and tagged them “The 5 Love Languages”. Since its impact in my life, i have never failed to recommend it to anyone who really cares to build a loving, Godly, happy relationship.

We want to assure you that this book: The 5 Love Languages: The Secret To Love That Lasts By Dr. Gary Chapman is a trailblazer. What we want to achieve by this is to review the book a bit. However, no amount of review can take the place of reading this book written so incisively and in simple terms. It promises to revolutionalise your love life and place you on the good lane of relationship bliss. Read on.

A Review Of The 5 Love Languages: The Secret To Love That Lasts By Dr. Gary Chapman

Gary Chapman in this book identified the 5 different ways people express love. Having had years of experience as a marriage counsellor, he’s an authority in this field. According to him, the 5 love languages include:The 5 Love Languages: The Secret To Love That Lasts By Dr. Gary Chapman

  1. Words Of Affirmation
  2. Quality Time
  3. Receiving Gifts
  4. Acts Of Service
  5. Physical Touch

Words Of Affirmation

Some people feel most loved when they receive words of affirmation from their loved ones.  It may be being told “I love you”, or being praised, complimented, appreciated, supported, or encouraged.  Essentially, having affirming words will make you feel loved if this is your primary love language. Chapman says: “Verbal compliments, or words of appreciation, are powerful communicators of love. They are best expressed in simple, straight-forward statements of affirmations, such as: “You look sharp in that suit”. “Do you ever look nice in that dress! Wow!”. “I really appreciate your washing the dishes tonight”…

Also See: How To Build Healthy Long Distance Relationships

Quality Time

Dr. Gary says, “By ‘Quality time’ I mean giving someone your undivided attention. I don’t mean sitting on the couch watching television together…What i mean is sitting on the couch with the TV off, looking at each other and talking,  giving each other your undivided attention. It means taking a walk, just the two of you, or going out to eat and looking at each other and talking”.

Also See: Top 4 Negative Habits That Kills Relationships And How To Avoid Them

Receiving Gifts

Dr. Gary says “A gift is something you can hold in your hand say, “Look, he was thinking of me,” or “She remembered me”. You must be thinking of someone to give him a gift. The gift itself is a symbol of that thought. It doesn’t matter whether it costs money. What is important is that you thought of him. And it is not the thought implanted only in the mind that counts, but the thought expressed in actually securing the gift and giving it as the expression of love”.

Also See: Top 5 Relationship Busters – How To Enjoy Your Relationship

Acts Of Service

Dr Gary speaks, “Such actions as cooking a meal, setting a table, washing dishes, vacuuming, cleaning a commode, getting hairs out of the sink, removing white spots from the mirror…changing the baby’s diaper, painting a bedroom, dusting the bookcase, dusting the blinds…are all acts of service. They require thought, planning, time, effort, and energy. If done with a positive spirit, they are indeed expressions of love”.

Also See: Top Mistakes Christian Singles Make In Relationship

Physical Touch

Dr. Gary says, “Physical touch is also a powerful vehicle for communicating material love. Holding hands, kissing, undressing…are all ways of communicating emotional love to one’s spouse. For some individuals, physical touch is their primary love language. Without it, they feel unloved. With it, their emotional tank is filled, and, they feel secured in the love of their spouse”.

Also See: How To Cope With Break Ups In Relationship

The 5 Love Languages: The Secret To Love That Lasts is a must read for all. The above is just an appetizer to what the book contains. Grab your copy now and thank us later.

If you have read this book before, kindly share your testimonies with us below, using the comment box. Thank you.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This