Congrats Luka Modric: 2018 Ballon d’Or Winner | Messi 5th

A very big congratulations to Luka Modric for emerging the 2018 Ballon d’Or winner for the first time ever. Depending on your perspective, this victory is surprising to many. Never has any other player outside Cristiano Ronaldo ever won this award since (2008). The last man to win the award outside this two is Kaka in 2007.

Luka Modric defied the odds to win this award. He defeated the likes of Cristiano Ronaldo, Antoine Griezmann, Kylian Mbappe to win emerge the 2018 Ballon d’Or winner.

The Real Madrid midfielder played a pivotal role for his club as they stormed to a third consecutive Champions League title, as well as captaining Croatia to second place at the 2018 World Cup in Russia.

Luka Modric: 2018 Ballon d’Or Winner

Surprisingly, Lionel Messi finished 5th in the voting, coming behind his arch rival Cristiano Ronaldo, Griezmann, & Mbappe, in that order. This makes it the first time he has ever missed out in the top 3 since 2007.

This has been a very spectacular year for Luka Modric.

Luka Modric 2018

Luka Modric played a very vital role in helping Real Madrid win a 3rd consecutive Champions league trophy in 2018. Over the years, he has been a very important cog in the Real Madrid’s winning machine. This year, his efforts has been recognized.

Modric followed that up by captaining his country: Croatia, to the world cup finals, where they were defeated by France. This earned him the award of the Golden Ball at the World Cup.

Let’s see a rundown of all Modric’s achievement in 2018.

  1. Champions League
  2. World Cup runner-up
  3. World Cup Golden Ball
  4. Best Croatian Player
  5. Champions League Team of the Season
  6. FIFPro World XI
  7. UEFA Midfielder of the Year
  8. #Goal50 Winner
  9. #BallondOr
  10. FIFA Best Player 2018
  11. UEFA Best Player 2018

Also See: Luka Modric Wins FIFA Best Player Award 2018

2018 Ballon d’Or Top 10

Here is how they stand in the world 2018.

  1. Luka Modric
  2. Cristiano Ronaldo
  3. Antoine Griezmann
  4. Kylian Mbappe
  5. Lionel Messi
  6. Mohammed Salah
  7. Raphael Varane
  8. Eden Hazard
  9. Kevin De Bruyne
  10. Harry Kane

Congrats Modric. Award well deserved! Do you agree?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This