Kante Wins Football Writers Association Best Player Of The Year Award

Kante Wins Football Writers Association Best Player Of The Year AwardChelsea’s N’golo Kante has won the the Football Writers Association Best Player of the Year Award. He once again defeated Eden Hazard, his nearest contestant, to win the award. Dele Alli was in distant third. This has indeed been a very remarkable season for N’golo Kante who is set to win the EPL title for 2 consecutive seasons with different teams (Chelsea and Leicester).

The Football Writers Association Best Player of the Year Award is the oldest football award. It has been in existence since the year 1947. FWA Chairman Patrick Barclay added: ‘N’Golo Kante could not be a more deserving winner of English football’s most prestigious individual award. In the view of some FWA members, he would have been a worthy recipient last season for his contribution to Leicester’s title success, but the almost unbroken excellent form of Chelsea since he changed clubs has left little room for further debate.

Also See: How To Vote For Chelsea’s Player Of The Year Award

Past Winners Of The Football Writers Association Best Player Of The Year Award

Year Winner Club
1947–48 Stanley Matthews Blackpool
1948–49 Johnny Carey Manchester United
1949–50 Joe Mercer Arsenal
1950–51 Harry Johnston Blackpool
1951–52 Billy Wright Wolverhampton Wanderers
1952–53 Nat Lofthouse Bolton Wanderers
1953–54 Tom Finney Preston North End
1954–55 Don Revie Manchester City
1955–56 Bert Trautmann Manchester City
1956–57 Tom Finney Preston North End
1957–58 Danny Blanchflower Tottenham Hotspur
1958–59 Syd Owen Luton Town
1959–60 Bill Slater Wolverhampton Wanderers
1960–61 Danny Blanchflower Tottenham Hotspur
1961–62 Jimmy Adamson Burnley
1962–63 Stanley Matthews Stoke City
1963–64 Bobby Moore West Ham United
1964–65 Bobby Collins Leeds United
1965–66 Bobby Charlton Manchester United
1966–67 Jack Charlton Leeds United
1967–68 George Best Manchester United
1968–69 Tony Book
Dave Mackay
Manchester City
Derby County
1969–70 Billy Bremner Leeds United
1970–71 Frank McLintock Arsenal
1971–72 Gordon Banks Stoke City
1972–73 Pat Jennings Tottenham Hotspur
1973–74 Ian Callaghan Liverpool
1974–75 Alan Mullery Fulham
1975–76 Kevin Keegan Liverpool
1976–77 Emlyn Hughes Liverpool
1977–78 Kenny Burns Nottingham Forest
1978–79 Kenny Dalglish Liverpool
1979–80 Terry McDermott Liverpool
1980–81 Frans Thijssen Ipswich Town
1981–82 Steve Perryman Tottenham Hotspur
1982–83 Kenny Dalglish Liverpool
1983–84 Ian Rush Liverpool
1984–85 Neville Southall Everton
1985–86 Gary Lineker Everton
1986–87 Clive Allen Tottenham Hotspur
1987–88 John Barnes Liverpool
1988–89 Steve Nicol Liverpool
1989–90 John Barnes Liverpool
1990–91 Gordon Strachan Leeds United
1991–92 Gary Lineker Tottenham Hotspur
1992–93 Chris Waddle Sheffield Wednesday
1993–94 Alan Shearer Blackburn Rovers
1994–95 Jürgen Klinsmann Tottenham Hotspur
1995–96 Eric Cantona Manchester United
1996–97 Gianfranco Zola Chelsea
1997–98 Dennis Bergkamp Arsenal
1998–99 David Ginola Tottenham Hotspur
1999–00 Roy Keane Manchester United
2000–01 Teddy Sheringham Manchester United
2001–02 Robert Pirès Arsenal
2002–03 Thierry Henry Arsenal
2003–04 Thierry Henry Arsenal
2004–05 Frank Lampard Chelsea
2005–06 Thierry Henry Arsenal
2006–07 Cristiano Ronaldo Manchester United
2007–08 Cristiano Ronaldo Manchester United
2008–09 Steven Gerrard Liverpool
2009–10 Wayne Rooney Manchester United
2010–11 Scott Parker West Ham United
2011–12 Robin van Persie Arsenal
2012–13 Gareth Bale Tottenham Hotspur
2013–14 Luis Suárez Liverpool
2014–15 Eden Hazard Chelsea
2015–16 Jamie Vardy Leicester City
2016–17 N’Golo Kante Chelsea

Congratulations to N’golo Kante for winning the Football Writers Association Best Player Of The Year Award.

We love to hear from you, leave a reply

error: Content is protected, contact OnlineDailys.com Team for access !!