La Liga Awards

La Liga Awards Winners 2016 | Griezmann Floors Ronaldo, Messi

La Liga awards for the 2015/2016 season have been announced with Antoine Griezmann winning the Best Player of the Season award. He also won the Fans’ Five Star Player award. The Atletico Madrid forward was pivotal in taking France to Euro 2016 Finals where they were defeated by Cristiano Ronaldo’s Portugal.


Also Read: 30-Man Ballon d’or List Released

Although Atletico Madrid finished the La Liga season in third place behind Barcelona and Real Madrid, it did not stop the team from winning majority of the La Liga awards available. Griezmann scored 22 goals in 38 games for Atletico Madrid last season.

List Of La Liga Award Winners 2016

  1. Best Player of the season             Antoine Griezmann (Atletico Madrid)
  2. Best Coach of the year                  Diego Simeone (Atletico Madrid)
  3. Best Defender                                 Diego Godin (Atletico Madrid)
  4. Best Goalkeeper                             Jan Oblak (Atletico Madrid)
  5. Best Striker                                     Lionel Messi (Barcelona)
  6. Best Midfielder                              Luka Modric (Real Madrid)

Also Read: Renato Sanches Wins Golden Boy Award


The 2016 La Liga award was boycotted by Barcelona players. The defiance was in support of their coach, Jose Enrique, who was snubbed for the Best Coach category despite winning the title. He was not even nominated. Rather, Atleti’s Argentinian coach defeated Celta Vigo boss Toto Berizzo and former Villarreal chief Marcelino to clinch his third gong in the Best Coach award.

Cristiano Ronaldo was however, conspicuously snubbed in any of the categories.


Pin It on Pinterest

Share This