List of Newly Appointed Service Chiefs and Profiles – Buhari Appoints

newly appointed service chiefs in Nigeria
Nigeria President Muhammadu Buhari  on Monday, has taken a step in appointing new Service Chiefs and the National Security Adviser. We have listed of the names of Newly Appointed Service Chiefs and Profiles.

President Muhammadu Buhari  has sacked the National Security Adviser, NSA, Col. Sambo Dasuki, (retd) and other service chiefs.

Names of Service Chiefs Buhari sacked are:

  • Alex Badeh, Chief of Defence staff
  • Usman Jibrin, Chief of Naval Staff
  •  Kenneth Minimah, Chief of Army Staff
  • Adesola Amosu, Chief of Air Staff.


List of Newly Appointed Service Chiefs and Profiles

  1. Chief of Army Staff –  Major-General T.Y. Buratai – Major General TY Buratai was the Force Commander of the Multi-National Joint Task Force (MNJTF) before his appointment.He has served as the Director at the Defence Headquarters, Abuja before his and has also served as the Commandant of the Nigerian Army School of Infantry.He sometimes served as the Brigade Commander at 2 Brigade, Nigerian Army as well as Commander, Joint Task Force, Operation PULO SHIELD.Major-General Babagana Monguno (rtd.) – National Security Adviser

    Has worked as Commander, Nigerian Army Training and Doctrine Command (TRADOC) is Maj.-Gen. Babagana Mungonu.

  2. Major-General Abayomi Gabriel Olonishakin – Chief of Defence StaffThe new Chief of Defence Staff, Maj.-Gen. Olonishakin (N/6901) hails from Ekiti State. Until his appointment as Chief of Defence Staff today, he was the Head of the Nigerian Army Training and Doctrine Command in Minna, Niger State.
  3. Rear Admiral Ibok-Ete Ekwe Ibas – Chief of Naval Staff Ibas hails from Cross River State. He enlisted into the Nigerian Defence Academy as a member of the 26th Regular Course in 1979 and was commissioned as a Sub-Lieutenant in 1983.His previous appointments include: Naval Provost Marshal, Chief Staff Officer, Naval Training Command, Chief of Administration, Naval Headquarters, Flag Officer Commanding Western Naval Command and Chief of Logistics, Naval Headquarters.Until his appointment as Chief of Naval Staff, he was the Chief Executive Officer of Navy Holdings Limited.
  4. Air Vice Marshal Sadique Abubakar – Chief of Air Staff(NAF/1433) hails from Bauchi State. His previous appointments include: Chief of Standards and Evaluation, NAF Headquarters; Chief of Defence Communications and Air Officer Commanding, NAF Training Command.
  5. Air Vice Marshal Monday Riku Morgan – Chief of Defence Intelligence


Article source: Vanguard

One comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This