Current Members of the Commonwealth Countries (Regions)

The Commonwealth us a voluntary association of 54 sovereign states, comprising the United Kingdom (UK) and a number of its former dependencies who have chosen to maintain ties of friendship and practical cooperation and who acknowledge the British monarch as symbolic head of their association.

Unlike the United Nations or the World Trade Organization, Commonwealth foundation is an international organization that comprises countries with diverse social, political, and economic backgrounds; all are thereby regarded as equal in status. Meaning no country is rated higher than the other in terms of the commonwealth foundation.

No legal or formal obligation or formal constitutions, instead they came together by shared traditions, institutions, and experiences as well as by economic self-interest – commonwealth foundation.

The Commonwealth Foundation Common Values and Goals

  • Promotion of democracy
  • Human rights
  • Good governance
  • The rule of law
  • Individual liberty
  • Equality before the law
  • Free trade
  • Multilateralism
  • World peace

Commonwealth Countries

List of Commonwealth countryRegoinDate of Commonwealth membership
Antigua and BarbudaWest Indies1 November 1981
AustraliaOceania (Australasia)19 November 1926
The BahamasWest Indies10 July 1973
BangladeshSouth Asia18 April 1972
BarbadosWest Indies30 November 1966
BelizeCentral America21 September 1981
BotswanaSouthern Africa30 September 1966
BruneiSoutheast Asia1 January 1984
CameroonCentral Africa13 November 1995
CanadaNorthern America19 November 1926
CyprusEurasia13 March 1961
DominicaWest Indies3 November 1978
EswatiniSouthern Africa6 September 1968
FijiOceania (Melanesia)10 October 1970
The GambiaWest Africa18 February 1965
GhanaWest Africa6 March 1957
GrenadaWest Indies7 February 1974
GuyanaSouth America26 May 1966
IndiaSouth Asia15 August 1947
JamaicaWest Indies6 August 1962
KenyaEast Africa12 December 1963
KiribatiOceania (Micronesia)12 July 1979
LesothoSouthern Africa4 October 1966
MalawiEast Africa6 July 1964
MalaysiaSoutheast Asia31 August 1957
MaldivesSouth Asia9 July 1982
MaltaSouthern Europe21 September 1964
MauritiusEast Africa12 March 1968
MozambiqueEast Africa13 November 1995
NamibiaSouthern Africa21 March 1990
NauruOceania (Micronesia)1 November 1968
New ZealandOceania (Australasia and Polynesia)19 November 1926
NigeriaWest Africa1 October 1960
PakistanSouth Asia14 August 1947
Papua New GuineaOceania (Melanesia)16 September 1975
RwandaEast Africa29 November 2009
Saint Kitts and NevisWest Indies19 September 1983
Saint LuciaWest Indies22 February 1979
Saint Vincent and the GrenadinesWest Indies27 October 1979
SamoaOceania (Polynesia)28 August 1970
SeychellesEast Africa29 June 1976
Sierra LeoneWest Africa27 April 1961
SingaporeSoutheast Asia9 August 1966
Solomon IslandsOceania (Melanesia)7 July 1978
South AfricaSouthern Africa19 November 1926
Sri LankaSouth Asia4 February 1948
TanzaniaEast Africa9 December 1961
TongaOceania (Polynesia)4 June 1970
Trinidad and TobagoWest Indies31 August 1962
TuvaluOceania (Polynesia)1 October 1978
UgandaEast Africa9 October 1962
United KingdomNorthern Europe19 November 1926
VanuatuOceania (Melanesia)30 July 1980
ZambiaSouthern Africa24 October 1964

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This