2018 Ballon d’Or Winner

Modric Wins FIFA Best Player Award 2018 | Salah Wins Puskas Best Goal Award

Finally, Modric Wins FIFA Best Player Award 2018 as Ronaldo and Mohammed Salah were defeated. This represents a total break from the usual domination of Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi over the past decade. Having earlier won the UEFA best player award, Luka Modric has been awarded again as the FIFA men’s best player award for 2018.

Prior to the award, it was gathered that Lionel Messi, who wasn’t listed in the final 3 nominees, as well as Cristiano Ronaldo, would not be in the award ceremony. As it happened, they both were absent from the award ceremony as expected. For the neutrals, Modric’s award would be a welcome development as many have been so used to seeing either of Cristiano Ronaldo or Lionel Messi win the award.

In the other news, Mohammed Salah was the winne of the 2018 Puska award. The Puskas Award is simply given to the best goal scorer of the season. In doing so, he defeated Cristiano Ronaldo (again) and Gareth Bale to clinch the award. Although, many feels it wasn’t deserved.

FIFA Best Player Award 2018

expanded thumbnail

having said all, it must be important to focus on the winner of the FIFA Best Player Award 2018: Luka Modric. The 2017/2018 season has been one of his best in his career. For years, he has been the brain behind Real Madrid’s midfield and team as well. It is high time he was recognised. He also led Croatia to the World Cup final where they were defeated by France.

Luka Modric’s 2018 Awards & Achievements

Below are the achievements and award Luka Modric won in 2018.

  1. UEFA Champions League
  2. Runner Up, Russia 2018 World Cup
  3. Russia 2018 Best Player of the tournament.
  4. FifPro XI
  5. UEFA Best Midfielder of the year
  6. UEFA best player of the Year.
  7. FIFA best Player of the year.

FIFA Puskas Award

Mohamed Salah beat Gareth Bale and Cristiano Ronaldo to win the FIFA Puskas award. The Liverpool forward scooped the award, which goes to the player who is deemed to have scored the most aesthetically pleasing goal in world football over the previous year. Salah’s effort in the Merseyside derby, in which he weaved through multiple Everton defenders before curling the ball into the top corner, was judged to come out on top.

Other Awards

Best Goalkeeper Award

Former Chelsea man Thibaut Courtois was awarded the best goalkeeper award, after his Golden Glove-winning World Cup tournament with Belgium.

Best Manager Award

France boss Didier Deschamps picked up the best manager award after guiding his nation to their second World Cup victory.

  1. Best FIFA Men’s Player: Luka Modric (Real Madrid)
  2. Best FIFA Women’s Player: Marta (Orlando Pride)
  3. Best FIFA Men’s Coach: Didier Deschamps (France)
  4. Best FIFA Women’s Coach Reynald Pedros (Lyonnais Féminin)
  5. Best FIFA Puskas Goal of the Year: Mohamed Salah (v Everton)
  6. FIFA Fair Play Award:Lennart Thy
  7. FIFA Fan Award: Peru fans

FIFPro XI Winners

Here are the FIFPro XI….a shoc… No Mohammed Salah!!! Courtois won the Best Goalkeeper award but wasn’t included!

expanded thumbnail

Congrats Luka Modric. What a player, what a year!!!

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This