Structure, Functions And Ranks of Nigerian Police

Structure, Functions And Ranks of Nigerian Police – The Nigerian Police is the number one law enforcement agency in Nigeria. It was formed in the year 1930. The motto of this agency is “Police is your friend”. It has a staff strength of about 371,800. The Nigerian Police has 36 State commands grouped into 12 zones and 7 administrative organs. We want to show you the Ranks and Functions of Nigerian Police Force.

The police performs a lot of functions in Nigeria. It also has different ranks which the staff can attain in the course of their service. So, in this work, we will tell you all you need to know about the Nigerian Police Force.

Structure, Functions And Ranks of Nigerian Police

Ranks in the Nigeria Police

  1. Inspector General
  2. Deputy Inspector-General of Police
  3. Assistant Inspector-General of Police
  4. Commissioner of Police
  5. Deputy Commissioner of Police
  6. Assistant Commissioner of Police
  7. Chief Superintendent of Police
  8. Superintendent of Police
  9. Deputy Superintendent of Police
  10. Assistant Superintendent of Police
  11. Inspector of Police
  12. Sergeant Major
  13. Sergeant
  14. Corporal
  15. Constable

Also See: Full List Of Contacts Of Nigerian Police PRO in All States

Inspector General of the Nigerian Police From 1964 Till date

Name Period in office
IGP Louis Edet 1964–1966
IGP Kam Salem 1966–1975
IGP Muhammadu Dikko Yusufu 1975–1979
IGP Adamu Suleiman 1979–1981
IGP Sunday Adewusi 1981–1983
IGP Etim Inyang 1985–1986
IGP Muhammadu Gambo-Jimeta 1986–1990
IGP Aliyu Atta 1990–1993
IGP Ibrahim Coomassie 1993–1999
IGP Musiliu Smith 1999–2002
IGP Mustafa Adebayo Balogun 2002–2005
IGP Sunday Ehindero 2005–2007
IGP Mike Mbama Okiro 2007–2009
IGP Ogbonna Okechukwu Onovo 2009-2010
IGP Hafiz Ringim 2010 – Jan 2012
IGP Mohammed Dikko Abubakar 2012 – 2014
IGP Suleiman Abba 2014 – 2015
IGP Solomon Arase 2015 – 2016
IGP Ibrahim Kpotun Idris 2016 – Till date

Also See: How To Check Nigerian Police Recruitment List Online


Title Departments Responsibilities
Department of Finance and Administration Finance and Administration General administration and Finance
Department of Operations Operations Crime prevention, Public Order, Public Safety
Department of Logistics and Supply Logistics and Supply Works and Police Estate Management
Department of Criminal Investigation Force Criminal Investigation Department (FORCID) Investigation
Department of Training and Development Training Human resources
Department of Research and Planning Planning, Research and Development Statistics and Data
Department of Information Technology Information and communication technology Communication management

Also See: List Of Nigerian Military Armed Forces Recruitment To Apply Online

Nigerian Police Force Contacts

  • Website:
  • Head Quarters: Louis Edet House, Abuja

That’s all on the Structure, Functions And Ranks of Nigerian Police. Please share.

We love to hear from you, leave a reply

error: Content is protected, contact Team for access !!